HULT Boston: Technologies to aid the learning process

06 January, 2017
  • 0
  • 4511
  • 0
Alisher
Norov

Hello everybody! I write to you from the wonderful city of Boston, where I study international finance at Master’s  at Hult International Business School.

Chosing HULT – a deliberate decision  

My decision to study at the business school was well thought out. I addressed to several consulting companies, many of them offered me the same universities. Education Standard first listened to me carefully, learned about my plans and requirements to universities, and only then offered several options. I applied to several universities, but in the end opted for HULT. In addition, it was Hult that offered me a partial scholarship of considerable amount. I can not say it's amount, since we are taught that financial issues are a personal matter of everyone :) In addition, Hult has campuses in San Francisco, Boston, New York, London, Shanghai, Dubai, and the university offers a program of rotation, i.e., during the time of studying at Master’s you can study in 2 cities.


Here we have a very international atmosphere, with students from many countries of the world - the United States, England, Italy, Germany, Singapore, Malaysia, India and Russia. However, Uzbekistan is represented by only two students. It's only the beginning! ))

We have a very high-tech campus!

To go inside, everyone should have a special electronic ID-card. Even the elevator is called by means of a touch screen - we enter the number of the desired floor, and the system calculates which elevator will take you to the desired floor faster.

In Boston HULT, in addition to comfortable lecture rooms there are also the so-called rooms for training - study rooms. Here we meet with fellow students after classes and do homework. The Hult educational system is aimed at solving practical problems - Case Study, therefore, the entire course is divided into small groups of 5-6 people, and professors give 1 assignment for a group. The most convenient in the classrooms is a whiteboard on the wall and a large monitor, which can be connected to a computer)) Each room named after cities - Lisbon, Istanbul, Zurich and so on. By the way, all the homework we get through the online portal - myhult, where we also upload the tasks performed.

In lecture halls 1 wall is completely made of glass, offering a great view of Boston downtown:) In addition to lectures on the compulsory subjects, guest lecturers frequently speak here - leading businessmen who share with us their experiences.  There are no roll calls and absence records in the register. Attendance system is electronic as well – at the entrance to a lecture hall, there is the device on which you have to leave a fingerprint, and it is considered that the student has attended the lecture.


On each floor of the campus, there is also a kitchenette - fridges, drinks, microwave ... everything to feed the brain between classes :) And for the recreation - comfortable sofas, chairs, ping pong, even a PlayStation! And for the study - modern IMACs with really high-speed Internet and connection to a printer. Any student can come and write any job or print out a document.

And there are lockers on ... timer! Get the keys away, you just need to set a timer on the locker, and the locker will open at that time. The main thing is to be on time! It seems like a joke? It has its own purpose. At Hult, we are taught that punctuality is a sign of good manners in business.

At Hult we learn not only direct subjects on our program, but also business ethics, how to communicate with employers, colleagues and partners; how to write a CV, what to say on interviews and much more. Hult graduates work in the world of branded companies like Coca-Cola, IBM, Google. I am very happy I’ve chosen Hult Boston.

HULT Бостон: Технологии в помощь учебному процессу

06 Января, 2017
  • 0
  • 2948
  • 0
Алишер
Норов

Привет всем! Пишу вам из замечательного города Бостон, где я изучаю международные финансы на магистратуре в Hult International Business School.

Выбор в пользу HULT – обдуманное решение

Моё решение обучаться именно в этой бизнес-школе было хорошо обдуманным. Я обращался в несколько консалтинговых компаний, многие из них предлагали мне одни и те же ВУЗы. В Education Standard же меня сначала внимательно выслушали, узнали о моих планах и требованиях к университетам, а только потом предложили несколько вариантов. Я подавал в несколько университетов, но в итоге остановил свой выбор на HULT. Кроме того, именно в Халт мне предложили значительного размера частичную стипендию. Не могу сказать её размер, т.к. нас учат, что финансовые вопросы – это личное дело каждого :) Кроме того, у Халт есть кампуса в Сан-Франциско, Бостоне, Нью-Йорке, Лондоне, Шанхай, Дубай, и университет предлагает программу ротации, т.е. за все время обучение на магистратуре можно отучиться в 2 городах.


Здесь у нас очень интернациональная атмосфера, обучаются студенты из многих стран мира – США, Англия, Италия, Германия, Сингапур, Малайзия, Индия, Россия. Однако Узбекистан представлен пока только двумя студентами. То ли еще будет! ))

У нас очень высокотехнологичный кампус!

Для того, чтобы пройти внутрь, все должны иметь специальную электронную ID-карту. Даже лифт вызывается сенсорным экраном – мы вводим номер нужного этажа, и система высчитывает, какой лифт быстрее довезет до требуемого этажа.

В HULT в Бостоне помимо удобных лекционных комнат также имеются так называемые комнаты для обучения – study rooms. Здесь мы собираемся с сокурсниками после занятий и выполняем домашку. В Халт система обучения направлена на решение практических вопросов – Case Study, поэтому весь курс разбивается на небольшие группы по 5-6 человек, и профессоры дают по 1 заданию на группу. Самое удобное в классных комнатах – это доска на всю стену (whiteboard) и большой монитор, к которому можно подсоединять компьютер )) У каждой комнаты свое название в честь городов мира – Лиссабон, Стамбул, Цюрих и так далее. Кстати, все домашние задания мы получаем через онлайн-портал – myhult, куда также мы и загружаем выполненные таски.


В лекционных залах 1 стена полностью стеклянная, открывается отличный вид на центр Бостона :) Кроме лекций по обязательным предметам, здесь часто выступают приглашенные лекторы – лидирующие бизнесмены, которые делятся с нами своим опытом. Здесь нет никаких перекличек и н/б в журнале. Система посещаемости также электронная – перед входом в лекционный зал стоит прибор, где нужно оставить отпечаток пальцев, и считается, что студент был на лекции.

На каждом этаже кампуса также есть мини-кухня – холодильники, напитки, микроволновка… Все для подпитки мозга между занятиями :) И отдыха – комфортные диваны, кресла, пинг-понг, даже PlayStation! И учебы – современные аймаки (IMAC) с реально скоростным интернетом и подключением к принтеру. Любой студент может подойти и написать какое-либо задание или распечатать документ. 

А еще есть камеры хранения на… таймере! Долой ключи, нужно просто поставить таймер на камере, и шкафчик откроется в это самое время. Главное, вовремя успеть! Кажется шуткой? У этого есть своя цель. В Халт нас учат, что пунктуальность – признак хорошего тона в бизнесе.


В Халт нас обучают не только прямым предметам по нашей программе, но также бизнес-этике, как правильно общаться с работодателями, коллегами, партнёрами; как правильно составить резюме, что говорить на интервью и многому другому. Выпускники Халт работают в таких мировых брендовых компаниях, как Coca-Cola, IBM, Google. Я очень доволен, что выбрал Hult Boston.