Learning to count - studying accounting at Adelphi Univeristy in New York

12 January, 2017
  • 0
  • 6395
  • 0
Saidkhon
Toymasov

Hello everybody! My name is Said, I'm from Tashkent. Now I learn the basics of accounting on the Bachelor’s program at Adelphi University in New York. Despite the huge variety of universities in the United States, I chose Adelphi as the university had offered me a very impressive scholarship:) I purposefully reached such a result, previously passed SAT with a score of 1800, and TOEFL iBT with a score of 94.

Why did I strain my muscles and passed SAT?

Because this test opens more possibilities, such as becoming of the 1st year student at once, without any additional English or math lessons (for my program, for example). This test also influences obtaining the grant.

About entering Adelphi University

I was looking for a university for a very long time, literally "prowling" through all sites, making a research. But this process took too much time, and I decided to apply to an agency offering education abroad, seeing that there was a great variety of them in Tashkent. I knew exactly that I wanted to study in the United States. However, many agents offered American universities, which did not meet my high demands to a university, so they offered universities in Canada or Australia, but I was not interested, because I wanted to enter a top-rated university in the United States. Thus, through trial and error, I found Education Standard. There I was offered a large variety of universities in the US and was advised to apply to several universities in different cities in the United States at the same time. I got Offer Letters from 7 of the 8 universities, as well as different amounts of grants. However, my choice fell on Adelphi University since their grant was the largest, and the university itself was located in one of the financial centers of the world – in the city of New York.

First impressions of New York

This is euphoria in a pure form. Everything seemed so bright and awesome! Then I calmed down and student weekdays began. I made friends with many of the guys and I can say that we have formed our own company. Every weekend, we walk around the city or go to Manhattan.

What I like the most…

First, the approach to teaching – the way we sit during lesson; how the teacher explains the topic; how exercises and problems are solved. The approach is a little bit different from the one usual to me, sometimes I have to self study a little bit more, but I can understand everything. Just don’t be lazy!

Second, the high culture of the English speech. For example, our teacher in economics lectures in a language that it seems like I'm reading a book – everything is in a very beautiful classical literary language. At the same time, the professor explains the subject very clearly.

Third, the campus itself! It is a very large, green student city - a sports hall, gym, dining room, places for recreation...

About additional opportunities...

Americans are very friendly. My university provides great opportunities for extra-curricular life, lots of extracurricular activities and clubs. Due to the fact that I study accounting, additionally I have become a member of the Accounting Club. I learned about it from the e-mail – the university administration regularly sends very informative newsletters on this topic. And even more!

About side job in the United States...

I made a big mistake ... Under the US law, international students are eligible to have side jobs on campus territory, where they study, but not more than 20 hours a week. By the time I realized it, all the vacancies on the campus were closed. So if you are planning to have a part time job while studying, organize everything in advance. In addition, the internship in the United States during the study is also provided by the University, you just need to study well and purposefully go for it.

To all those who are planning to enter a university in the United States, relying on my own experience, I would advise to start intensive English and mathematics training in advance, even from the 9th grade, probably, in order to successfully prepare for TOEFL and SAT or ACT. Do not be afraid of difficulties. Believe me, study in the US is worth it!

Учусь считать – изучаю бухгалтерию в Adelphi Univeristy в Нью-Йорке

12 Января, 2017
  • 0
  • 2445
  • 0
Саидхон
Тоймасов

Всем здравствуйте! Меня зовут Саид, я из Ташкента. Сейчас я постигаю азы бухгалтерского учета (accounting) на бакалавриате в университете Adelphi в Нью-Йорке. Несмотря на огромный выбор вузов в США, я остановился именно на Аделфай, так как этот университет предложил мне стипендию, очень внушительную :) Я целеустремленно шел к подобному результату, заблаговременно сдал SAT на 1800 и TOEFL iBT на 94.

Зачем я так напрягался и сдавал SAT?

Потому что этот тест открывает больше возможностей, таких как поступление сразу на 1 курс, без каких-либо дополнительных занятий по английскому языку или математике (для моей программы, например). Этот тест также влияет на получение гранта.

О поступлении в университет Adelphi…

Я очень долго искал университет, буквально «рыскал» по всем сайтам, делал рисерч. Но этот процесс занимал у меня слишком много времени, и я решил обратиться в агентство по обучению за рубежом, благо в Ташкенте их выбор большой. Я точно знал, что хочу обучаться в США. Однако многие агенты предлагали американские вузы, которые не соответствовали моим высоким требованиям к университету, поэтому они переходили университеты в Канаде или Австралии, а мне это было не интересно, так как хотел поступить в рейтинговый ВУЗ в США. Так, методом проб и ошибок, я нашел Education Standard. Здесь мне предложили большой выбор университетов в США и посоветовали подавать документы в несколько университетов в разных городах в США одновременно. Я получил предложения (Offer Letters) от 7 из 8 университетов, так же, как и разного размера гранты. Однако мой выбор пал на университет Аделфай, так как их грант был самым большим, да и сам университет располагается в одной из финансовых центров мира – городе Нью-Йорк.

Первые впечатления о Нью-Йорке

Это эйфория в чистом виде. Все казалось ярким и удивительным! Потом я упокоился и начались студенческие будни. Я уже подружился с многими ребятами и можно сказать, что у нас образовалась своя компания. Каждые выходные мы гуляем по городу или выезжаем в Манхеттен.

Больше всего мне нравится…

Во-первых, подход к преподаванию – то, как мы сидим на парах; то, как преподаватель объясняет тему; то, как решаются примеры и задачи. Подход немного отличается от привычного мне, иногда приходится проводить немного больше самообучения (self study), но понять всё можно. Не нужно только лениться!

Во-вторых, высокая культура английской речи. Например, наш преподаватель по экономике читает лекции на таком языке, что складывается впечатление, будто я книгу читаю – все на очень красивом классическом литературном языке. При этом, профессор очень понятно излагает тему.  

В-третьих, Сам кампус университета! Он очень большой, зеленый, целый студенческий город – спортивный зал, тренажёрный зал, столовая, места для отдыха…

О дополнительных возможностях…

Американцы очень дружелюбные. Мой университет предоставляет большие возможности для внеклассной жизни, море факультативных занятий и клубов. В связи с тем, что я изучаю бухучет, я записался дополнительно в Accounting Club. Узнал я об этом из электронной почты – администрация университета делает регулярную очень информативную рассылку на эту тему. И не только!

О подработке в США…

Я допустил большую оплошность… По законодательству США международные студенты имеют право подрабатывать на территории университета, где они обучаются, не более 20 часов в неделю. К тому моменту, как я это осознал, все вакансии на кампусе были уже закрыты. Так что если вы планируете подработку во время учебы, организуйте все заранее. Кроме того, стажировка в США во время учёбы также обеспечивается университетом, нужно просто хорошо заниматься и целенаправленно идти к этому.

Всем тем, кто планирует поступать в ВУЗ в США, опираясь на собственный опыт, хотелось бы посоветовать начать интенсивные занятия английским и математикой заранее, еще даже с 9-го класса, наверное, чтобы успешно подготовиться к TOEFL и SAT или ACT. Не нужно бояться трудностей. Поверьте, обучение в США того стоит!