New York, English in American style! Summer Course!

15 February, 2017
  • 0
  • 2638
  • 0
Yekaterina
Raevskaya

New York, New York ... the city of great expectations and hopes, a metropolis with a huge energy of ambitious plans. The city of neon signs and beautiful tall buildings. Such common pictures my imagination drew when our plane was landing at Kennedy airport in New York, in anticipation of the fact that for 2 weeks I will myself feel the air and the energy of the "Big Apple". Our school was on Times Square in the heart of Manhattan, five minutes’ walk from the Fifth Avenue, Broadway and Empire State Building.

We lived those 2 weeks as real New Yorkers! In the morning, we went to the school by 9 o'clock, sometimes using the subway. Often we watched inhabitants, at breakneck speed, running past us, probably fearing of being late in their offices. And we watched them having a bite with a croissant from Starbucks, drinking a "Take away" coffee.

Our teachers were Americans, and if during breaks they were simple and funny friends, in the classroom, they became very strict and acted according to the schedule. I was impressed that they could so change. It showed their professionalism. Every day after lunch, we went on New York tours. And if at first I thought that having lived in this city for two weeks, I would know every corner, after the first outing I realized, it was unreal! So many sights and places that I wanted to see, but even if we walked day and night, we would not have time to take part in various excursions during 2 weeks. We had everyday lessons in our schedule, and we could explore New York during free time only.

Central Park

When we went to this park, it seemed to me that I came to the island, suddenly emerged in the heart of concrete buildings, neon signs and bustle. Our walk was dedicated to the performance, organized by young theatergoers. The feeling that you’ve ended up in a green beautiful location, with manicured trees, where everybody suddenly stop hurrying up, can sit directly on the grass or even lie, like puppies. These surprising contrasts, which I saw made me penetrate into the life of a fussy person who could come to the park and start the program "Stop, reset". And after …. work, studies, plans, affairs, and quickly returned to his life!

Empire State Building

The excursion to the sightseeing platform on the 86 floor of this building was fascinating! The city viewing angle of 360 degrees was breathtaking. The sun was setting, and on the other side, the moon already appeared on the post. It was summer, but New York was shining like a Christmas tree. It was so nice to see from a height how the city was turning to a night awake mode. At that moment, when I was looking at the city from a bird's-eye view, I felt proud of the people in general, of the human intelligence, which could create such huge 100-storey buildings, suspension bridges, and that was a symbol of the power of human engineering science.

The Statue of Liberty

Once on a weekend, we went on an excursion to the island of Liberty to take a look at the famous "Liberty Enlightening the World," as the Statue of Liberty called. We got Bedlow island on a ferry, and the queues, in which we spent some time, did not spoil our impressions. It was so great to see the symbol of the country, which is so dear to Americans.

American Museum of Natural History

When we had to go to this museum, we did not really want to spend time on it, to be honest we thought it would be a dull affair. Taking a walk through the halls, we seemed to be walking through the history of our planet, there were so many exhibits, which we first saw in your life, of course we had a very informative and interesting time.

And there was Madame Tussauds’ Museum, brightness and luxury offered in the museum amazed us. Then there was the Brighton Beach, where we swam in the ocean waves. Rides at Coney Island did not leave us indifferent. Shopping on the 5th Avenue surprised us with such a variety of shops and goods. We tasted famous Donuts, and, of course, our favorite McDonalds did not go unnoticed!

A day before departure, at the school, we were solemnly handed over the certificates, and recalling my New York holidays, with a pleasant aftertaste, I can say that I have usefully spent those weeks having improved my spoken English, and saved vivid impressions for my whole life, that I have kept in my camera’s memory.

Нью-Йорк, английский по-американски! Летний курс!

15 Февраля, 2017
  • 1
  • 3534
  • 0
Екатерина
Раевская

Нью Йорк, Нью Йорк... город больших ожиданий и надежд, мегаполис с огромной энергетикой амбициозных планов. Город неоновых реклам и красивых высоких зданий. Такие общие картины рисовало мое воображение, когда наш самолет садился в аэропорте Кеннеди, в Нью Йорке, в предвкушении того, что за 2 недели я сама почувствую воздух и энергетику этого "Большого Яблока". Наша школа находилась на Таймс Сквер в сердце Манхеттена, в пяти минутах от Пятой авеню, Бродвея и Empire State Building.

Эти 2 недели мы жили, как самые настоящие Нью-Йоркцы! Утром мы к 9-ти часам шли в школу, иногда пользуясь метро. Зачастую мы наблюдали, как жители, сломя голову, бежали мимо нас, наверное, боясь опоздать в свои офисы. А мы наблюдали как они на ходу перекусывают круасаном из Старбакса, запивая кофе “Take away”.

Наши учителя были американцы, и если на переменах это были простые и веселые друзья, то  в классе они становились очень строгими и действовали согласно расписанию. Мне импонировало, что они могли так меняться. Это показывало их профессионализм. Каждый день после обеда, мы ходили на экскурсии по Нью-Йорку. И если сначала я думала, что пожив в этом городе 2 недели, я узнаю каждый закоулочек, то после первой прогулки я поняла, что это нереально! Так много достопримечательностей и мест, которые хотелось увидеть, но даже если бы мы гуляли день и ночь, за 2 недели мы бы не успели поучаствовать во всевозможных экскурсиях. Наш учебный график был насколько плотным, что исследовать Нью Йорк мы могли только в свободное от занятий время.

Центральный парк (Central Park)

Когда мы пошли в этот парк, мне показалось, что я попала на остров, неожиданно возникший в сердце бетонных зданий, неоновой рекламы и суматохи. Наша прогулка была посвящена представлению, которое устраивали молодые театралы. Ощущение, что ты очутился в зелёном красивом месте, с ухоженными деревьями, где вдруг все перестают спешить, могут прямо сесть на траву или даже поваляться, как щенята. Такие удивительные контрасты, которые я видела, заставляли меня проникаться в жизнь суетливого человека, который мог прийти в парк и включить программу «Остановки, перезагрузки». И после ….  работа, учеба, планы, дела, и быстро возвращался в свою жизнь!

Эмпайр Стейт билдинг (Empire state Building)

Экскурсия на смотровую площадку на 86 этаже в этом здании была завораживающей! От угла обозрения города в 360 градусов захватывало дух. Солнце уже садилось, а с другой стороны луна уже появилась на своем посту. Это было лето, но Нью Йорк горел как новогодняя елка. Было так приятно видеть с высоты, как город переходил в ночной активный режим. В эти минуты, когда я смотрела на город с высоты птичьего полета, я почувствовала гордость за людей в целом, за интеллект человека, который смог создать такие огромные 100-этажные здания, подвесные мосты, и то было символом мощи инженерной науки человека.

Статуя Свободы (The Statue of Liberty)

В один из выходных дней, мы поехали на экскурсию на остров Свободы, посмотреть на знаменитую «Свободу, озаряющую мир», как называют Статую Свободы. На остров Бедлоу мы добирались на пароме, и очереди, в которых мы стояли немалое время, не испортили нам впечатления. Это было так здорово, видеть этот символ страны, который так дорог американцам.

Музей естественной истории  (American  Museum of  Natural  History)

Когда нам нужно было идти в этот музей, мы не очень-то хотели тратить на это время, честно скажу вам, думали, что это будет скучным занятием. Гуляя по залам, мы как будто прогулялись по истории нашей планеты, столько было экспонатов, которые мы впервые видели в своей жизни, то конечно же мы провели очень познавательно и интересно это время.

Еще был музей Мадам Тюссо, яркость и роскошь, предложенная в музеи поразили нас. Потом был Брайтон Бич, на пляже которого мы искупались в волнах океана. Аттракционы на Кони Айланд не оставили нас равнодушными. Шопинг на 5 Авеню удивлял нас таким разнообразием магазинов и товаров. Пробовали знаменитые пончики Донатс, и конечно же любимый Мак Доналдс не остался без внимания!

За день до вылета в школе нам торжественно вручили сертификаты, и вспоминая мои Нью Йоркские каникулы, с приятным послевкусием, могу сказать, что я с пользой для себя провела эти недели, улучшив мой разговорный английский, и сохранив на всю свою жизнь яркие впечатления, которые я сохраняла в памяти моего фотоаппарата.


Этим летом мы также организовываем каникулярные академические программы для детей и подростков. Подберите подходящую Вашему ребёнку =>